The goddess of small things….

Posted: November 2, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

‘Pour me another small…’ Arundhati to bartender.

‘….Shall I make it large…you have been drinking umpteen smalls’.

She gives him an icy stare…(which he cannot see in the semi darkness)…but when she crushes the glass and it crumbles to pieces….he is shocked.

‘Did nobody tell you that I hate large things? That is why I am and wrote the god(ddess) of small things’

Thankfully the bartender has another customer he has to tend to and so does not have to answer or mull over crap.

As Arundhati drains the small on the rocks and awaits her next small hungrily….her inner demons issue out of her and begin their rock dance.

‘I hate large things…and the largest thing around me is India…how big…how dirty…I will smash it to a million pieces…I will keep smashing it with naxalite rockets, secessionist drone attacks…with paper tigers…I will smash it to such tiny bits that the last bit will be smaller than…than…me…and I will be the goddess of all small things…Goddess..Goddess…small…small…’

The bartender heard the small one slouching across and hurriedly poured the small…and dropped some ice into the glass…(better to keep this one cool…one cannot say what these puny monster will do next…perhaps ring up the proprietor and say something in a small husky intimate voice against him…could be fatal).

‘I hate everything big…big dams…for instance…and when I stand in front of one and raise my voice it echoes all over and I feel big…as big as a dam……(at the bartender). damn..you…don’t pour the small all over me’

‘I love Pakistan because it is small…and I love it when elite Indians…—a small section and I love them for it…loveable traitors they are – make me their goddess. I am small… I love small…small…small…’

It was time for the goddess of small things…to see the bill. She almost faints when she sees it.…it is big.

But when she thinks of the moolah she will make spewing venom at India with her small but infinitely crooked mouth, a warm feeling tingles all across her small heart.

‘The West will love me…hail me as the Katherine Mayo of the 21st century…..and my fame will be large large….so large that it will fill the world…and I will be the goddess of small things…but large…large..and larger…’

As the bartender poured out another large….he wondered what hat gotten into the puny creature that was jabbing at the air with thrusts of an imagined sword as it went..

As he saw the small thing exiting, he had the feeling that the bar had suddenly grown large. How much space some small things occupy, he thought..

Comments
  1. Matheikal says:

    Very strange you took the pseudo-nym ‘vamanan’! Too small for you.

  2. Matzpen says:

    I think Arundhati Roy has a lot of excellent points on Kashmir, and Obama and the Indian media better listen up
    http://sherrytalksback.wordpress.com/2010/11/10/arundhati-roy-to-obama/